The Royal Tennis Court


Salle du Jeu de Paume
1 rue du Jeu de Paume
GPS coordinates
Latitude : 48.801004
Longitude : 2.123831


This emblematic place was the theatre of the oath during which 578 deputies of the States General swore not to be separated until they had given a constitution to France. The French Revolution was begnning...
The Royal Tennis Court will be open to the public on the first Sunday of every month from April to October from 12.30 pm to 6.30 pm and on guided tours only for the rest of the time.

Built in 1686 to meet the needs of the court of Versailles palace, the Royal Tennis court (royal tennis is the ancestor of tennis) was the scene of the Oath of June 20, 1789, which is when 578 deputies of the Estates General (which consisted of 1118) self-proclaimed themselves the National Assembly and swore not to break up before they had given France a constitution. The French Revolution was launched…

During the Revolution, the idea was raised to replace the Royal Tennis court with a commemorative monument, but nothing was done before 1880, when the hall was turned into a museum in preparation for the centenary of that decisive event.

Make sure you wear something warm, as the room is not heated!



InterieurTableau de DavidBustesPerspectiveStatueExterieur


No booking necessary on free admission days.